The Anti-Jargonator

by Emily

The Up-Goer Five Text Editor” challenges you to try to explain a complex idea using only the top ten hundred most used words in English. Given that in my writing, I’m constantly struggling with limiting jargon and expressing the relevance of ideas outside of anthropology, I thought it would be worth a try.

Here’s what I came up with to describe what I do as an archaeologist:

I look at old houses and find old stuff from them to find out how people used to live. When their houses and things are different from others, that means they did not live in the same way. I try to understand why: maybe some had less money, or were from different family groups or races, or had different kinds of jobs. It helps to look at these things next to things from people and houses in the past that we already know about, because if we can find ways that the things are like each other, maybe it means the people were like each other in some ways too.

